PVTA AGM Minutes March 10, 2010

Pemberton Valley Trails Association

Minutes of Annual General Meeting March 10, 2010

Location: Cottonwood Recreation Centre


Chris Allen, Jan & Hu Naylor, Celine Forand, Hillary Downing, Nigel Protter, Rudy Benes, Kevin Phelps, Lon Martin, John Inglis, Jeff Shore, Dustin Gordon, Rena Warden, Russ Wood, Alan Mc Ewan, Jason Wint, Clemens Machilek, Peter Scholz, Sebastian Wild, Terry Evans, Ian Kruger, Paula Robertson.

Call to Order: 7:05 pm                      Hillary Downing Chaired

Minutes from the March 11, 2009 AGM meeting were accepted.

Annual Report:

–          Nigel Protter was hired as an Executive Director with much success.

–          MOTH trails and new paraglide lunch site were constructed with funding from local organizations and matching funds from the National Trails Coalition.

–          HWY 99 trail is still not proceeding due to lack of a few key right-of-way agreements.

–          Awaiting the final approval of the Pemberton and Area C Trails Master Plan.

–          Enhanced trails in the One Mile Lake area: while not a PVTA specific project it is an excellent improvement thanks to Pemberton Rotary Club and the VOP.

–          Upcoming projects: Sea-to-Sky Trail is to start working on connecting Whistler and Pemberton

–          Proposed development in the Mosquito Lake area (Sunstone Ridge) could impact the trail network: consulting with the Sunstone Group is to be an important project for the PVTA to undertake this year.



In 2009 the PVTA had 231 members.

It was proposed that the PVTA raise the price of membership to $20, however there was little member support.  The PVTA membership fees are to remain the same for 2010.


Treasurer’s Report:

$6000 hold back from NTC has not been received yet.

-$235 in bank account

PVTA received a $10,000 grant from PVUS for trail maintenance; however PVTA needs to submit a formal budget and account more clearly how the money is spent.

In the PVUS trail budget there is $50,000 available for trail services, PVTA should put together a proposal to access some of these funds.


Election of Directors:

Returning Directors:

Chris Allen

Lon Martin

Rudy Benes

John Inglis

Peter Colapinto

Celine Forand

Hillary Downing

Kevin Phelps

Hu Naylor

New Directors:

John Chilton

Clemens Machilek


Adjournment: 7:45 pm


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.